My Theory About Book Experiences (Writing Inspiration)

I have a theory. As a reader, you experience everything you read. I only have this theory because it applies to my reading experience. Every time I read a new book, whether I loved it or not, I always found myself trying to relate to the characters as if they were real. Granted, not every reader has the same experience as another, but that does not mean they did not have a similar one.

I read the Divergent Trilogy last summer, in three days (because they were borrowed from a friend), and I found myself in a slump. I was enjoying the books, but I did not like how they left me. I became depressed, edgy, irritable; I was not my usual peppy, almost bubbly character. (I saw the movie recently, but I did not get the same reaction as the book[s].) I had a similar aftermath to the Hunger Games (I only read the first book).

I got to thinking, if I had that sort of reaction, that must explain why I prefer certain books over others; Historical Fiction: Love It; Teen&YA Contemporary: Adore It. I also got to wondering why I prefer those books over dark paranormal/horror and other genres that I shall not mention. The answer: my upbringing and personal preference.

Now for the inspiration behind my theory:
I find that, based on what I like to read, I prefer to write light-hearted, cliché (it was never written by me yet), sweet romances, that bounce off basic principles from the Bible.

Growing up, the first “spooky” I read was the book of Revelations in the Bible. I read the whole book in one night, and I found that it was my kind of thriller novel. If anyone knows a fictional retelling, please feel free to share, because I would interested.

The Bible: It has every story possibly known to the book world. Do you have one near you? Open it, and you will agree.

Back to the reader’s experience through books. I’ve experienced every possible emotion. I’ve felt dislike (hate is too strong a word for me to use) towards a character for being so dumb. I’ve felt pity and pain, fear. It’s all in books. I sometimes reflect what I read. For instance, yesterday I finished reading the sweetest book ever (review coming soon), and to top it off, I love that the author based the main guy character on someone she loves. I tend to do that too, A LOT. I love that aspect in every book, whether I know who the person was or not. I can always guess when a character is based on someone in the author’s life.

I will not bog you down with my scattered theory. I thought it would come out better. But you can decide that for yourself. As a reader, do you see these things?

Leave a Reply

