NaNoWriMo: Is it a distraction?

I know that it’s been a long time since I shared anything on this blog, but I’m here now! I thought I would share my thoughts on NaNoWriMo (and a few other things), since I am participating in Camp, during the month of April. 

Everyone has a different experience with NaNoWriMo. Depending on how committed you plan to be with your writing, NaNoWriMo can go two ways: the good way, or the bad way. If it goes the good way, you will find yourself speeding through without doubting your potential and you will meet your goal within record time. If it goes the bad way, then there may be the chance that you are not as committed as you originally thought.

Writing is a commitment, and you either love it or you don’t love it. You either enjoy doing it as a fun hobby or profession, or you force yourself to do it so that you can pass a class or impress someone. No, never force yourself. I tell this to people a lot. If you’re not feeling it, don’t force it. Forcing it can make it worse.

Now, when participating in NaNoWriMo, you must be willing to commit to writing that project all the way through, whether you finish it in the month or not. But that would mean putting your other works on hold until you are not rushed or pressed for time.

I failed NaNoWriMo in Nov2015, and I failed miserably. And let me not forget to mention that the project is still stuck in the 4th or 5th chapter. What excuse do I have for that? Well, my family had a surge of stuff happening in November, that I had to drop the project. All the stuff that was going on came as a shock and my family needed a lot of time to recover from that blow.

What are some ways that we can do to keep our momentum from falling during NaNoWriMo?:
Don’t stress it and don’t force it. Believe, from personal experience, you never want to force or stress your writing. If you do that, it’s not going to be fun for you.

How committed should we be to NaNoWriMo?:
Commit yourself enough that you can have your project rolling out on the red carpet. You started the project, work to get it done, but don’t over do it, because life outside of writing does take a priority.

Leave a Reply

